Maurice Strong has received a number of honours, awards and medals for his  "service to humankind and the planet". He has also received 53 honorary doctorate degrees and honorary Visiting Professorships at 7 universities.

Among the honours and awards: 

2004: Honorary Professor, Peking University

2003: Public Welfare Medal from the US National Academy of Sciences: The National Academy of Sciences selected Maurice F. Strong to receive its most prestigious award, the Public Welfare Medal. Established in 1914, the medal is presented annually to honour extraordinary use of science for the public good. The Academy chose Maurice Strong, a Canadian and the first non-U.S. citizen to receive the award, in recognition of his leadership of global conferences that became the basis for international environmental negotiations and for his tireless efforts to link science, technology, and society for common benefit. Also go to: http://www.crcresearch.org/node/2339

2003: Recipient of the Distinguished Canadian Leadership Award by the University of Canada.

2002: Carriage House Center on Global Issues: Candlelight Award

Secretary-General Kofi Annan (left) presents the Candlelight Award to both Maurice F. Strong (centre) and Jim MacNeill in recognition of their service to the United Nations and their key roles in promoting and advancing sustainable development. (Date: 06 December 2002)

1999: Companion of the Order of Canada

Companion of the Order of Canada Recognizes: a lifetime of outstanding achievement and merit of the highest degree, especially in service to Canada or to humanity at large.

 1996: Swedish Royal Order of the Polar Star

1995: IKEA Environmental Award

1994: Asahi Glass Foundation Award: Blue Planet Prize

1994: Lifetime Achievement Award, Environment Canada

1994: Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding

1993: International St. Frances Prize for the Environment

1993: Cervia Ambiente Award

1993: New World Journal Award

1993: UN Writers' Award of Excellence

1993: National Wildlife Foundation Ding Darling Medal

1989: Pearson Peace Medal

1987: Member, United Nations Environment Programme Global 500 Award

1982: Gold Environmental Leadership Decade Award, UNEP

1981: Charles A. Lindbergh Award

1977: Henri Pittier Order of Venezuela

1976: First United Nations International Environmental Prize

1976: Order of Canada

1975: National Audubon Society Award

1976: Mellon Award

1975: Freedom Festival Award

1974: Tyler Evironmental Prize

Other honours and awards include:

The Brazilian National Order of the Southern Cross

Commander of the Order of the Golden Ark (Netherlands)

International Saint Francis Prize

Fellow The Royal Society (UK)

Royal Society of Canada

Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

International Institute for Sustainable Development: Honorary Board Member Distinguished Fellow